Daniel J. Curtis Memorial Scholarship Fund

The AFCEA Dayton-Wright Chapter Dan Curtis Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of Dan’s significant volunteer contributions to the Chapter and in honor of his strong advocacy of the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base community.  Dan’s service to the Dayton area started as early as high school when he was elected class president of Wayne High School.  Leveraging his patriotic passion and Political Science education, Dan was a legislative aide and executive assistant in the Ohio House early in his career.  Dan served 16 years with the US Air Force and 32 years working with various private sector, nonprofit and governmental organizations to improve his community and his nation. Dan was an active member of AFCEA’s Dayton-Wright Chapter, serving in various capacities with the chapter, for almost a decade, including as Chapter President.

The DWAFCEA honors his legacy by funding a Scholarship in his name and awarding it to a student of Wayne High School who has shown a desire to serve their community and to pursue a STEM related career field. This drive and passion for service will benefit the security of our nation.

The criteria for these scholarships are as follows:

  • Must be a U.S. Citizen.
  • Must be a graduate of Wayne High School, Beavercreek, OH or graduating senior, in good standing, at the time of application.
  • AFCEA members will be given preferential consideration for these scholarships.
  • Students who demonstrate financial need will be given preferential consideration for these scholarships.
  • Student must have recently exhibited strong leadership skills and/or community involvement.
  • A current cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher in high school or overall GPA of 3.0 their current program at an accredited U.S. college or university at the time of application.
  • Applications will be accepted from:  
    • Current eligible undergraduate level students majoring in STEM fields that meet the mission of AFCEA, to include Cyber Security, Intelligence and Homeland Security-related disciplines. Online programs are eligible.
    • Wayne High School Seniors who have been accepted into college or university pursuing a declared STEM+ related major within the area of
  • Applicant must be pursuing a STEM+ related major at their current or intended college or university within the area of Biology, Biomedical Science, Biometry/Biometrics, Chemistry, Computer Forensics Science, Computer Programming, Computer Science, Computer Systems, Cybersecurity, Engineering (Biomedical, Computer, Electrical, Electronics, Management Information Systems, Mechanical, Network, Robotics), Engineering Physics, Geospatial Science, Information Science, Information Technology, Information Resource Management, Intelligence, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Network Security, Operations, Research, Physics, Robotics Technology, Statistics, Strategic Intelligence, and Telecommunications Engineering.
  • No disqualifying consideration of ethnic background, religious affiliation, military service, disability, gender, or sexual orientation will enter the judgement made in the selection of recipients of these awards.

For more information, contact the VP of Education, Dayton-Wright Chapter.

The application deadline for 2019, is May 10th.

To apply, complete the attached form and return as directed.






Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software